:: in Finnish

Anssi Tikanmäki first got interested in film in around 1970. He had already had his ear tuned to the soundtracks of numerous films both Finnish and foreign but it was the music by Ennio Morricone to "The Good, the Bad and the Ugly" that finally provided the initial spark.

Ten years from that moment, he himself got drawn into the cinema when Mika and Aki Kaurismäki, the leading lights of the new Finnish film generation, invited him to compose the music for a film called "The Worthless" (1982) directed by Mika and written by Aki. "The Worthless" was to be the starting shot for the contemporary Finnish flm.

Since then, Tikanmäki has provided the scores for many of the brothers' films, and especially those directed by Mika, such as "The Clan", "Rosso", "Cha cha cha" and "Paper Star". A number of other directors, such as Anssi Mänttäri, have also been drawn to Tikanmäki's way of creating a musical ambiance.

In addition to original Finnish productions, Tikanmäki has written music for a number of old silent films and performed it with his own film orchestra.

JuhaTikanmäki's biggest film project to date is the silent film "Juha" (1999) directed by Aki Kaurismäki and premiered at the Berlin Film Festival. This score was a landmark in the history of Finnish film music. Here in Aki Kaurismäki's direction of a genuine silent film in the traditional sense, the music assumes a
more significant role than in an ordinary sound film.

The music for "Juha" exists in two arrangements: as a studio version and a live performance. At the Berlin premiere, the Anssi Tikanmäki Filmorchestra provided a live commentary. The music for "Juha" has won international acclaim and was shortlisted for the International Prize for Film & Media Music at the International Biennial for Film Music at Bonn in Germany in such distinguished company as Hans Zimmer's "The Thin Red Line", Philip Glass's "Kundun" and Lalo Schifrin's "Tango".

The Anssi Tikanmäki Filmorchestra and "Juha" have been in great demand at film and other festivals all over Europe. His score for Mika Kaurismäki's "The Clan" won Tikanmäki a Finnish Jussi Award and that for Mika Kaurismäki's "Rosso" the Finnish National Cinema Award.

Below the List of Anssi`movies

THE MOVIE Director Year
The Worthless Mika Kaurismäki 1982
Rakkauselokuva Anssi Mänttäri 1983
The Clan Mika Kaurismäki 1984
Rajakäynti Veikko Kerttula 1984
Rosso Mika Kaurismäki 1985
The King goes forth to France Anssi Mänttäri 1986
By the Law Lev Kulesov 1986
Greed Erich von Strohei 1987
Nightwork Mika Kaurismäki 1988
Battleship Potemkin Sergei Eisenstein 1988
Cha Cha Cha Mika Kaurismäki 1989
Paperstar Mika Kaurismäki 1989
Judex Louis Feuillade 1989
Man with the filmcamera Dziga Vertov 1990
Raivaajat Sakari Mustanoja 1990
Bohemian Life Aki Kaurismäki 1991
Papukaijamies Veikko Nieminen 1992
Mustan Kongin Enkelit Jarmo Vesteri 1992
The Well Pekka Lehto 1992
The Last Border Mika Kaurismäki 1993
Der Letzte Mann F.W. Murnau 1995
Juha Aki Kaurismäki 1999
The Girl King Mika Kaurismäki 2015